---
title: "Error Provisioning a User with a Previously Used UID"
canonical: "https://help.validic.com/space/VCS/1647083637/Error%20Provisioning%20a%20User%20with%20a%20Previously%20Used%20UID"
format: markdown
---
###### **This article pertains to:** [Legacy API (V1)] 

---

***Why am I receiving a 409 duplicate user error when provisioning a user with the same UID as a deleted user?***

When a user is deleted, we place a 5 minute hold on the UID to prevent duplicate users being created with the same UID. This means that you will not be able to provision a user with the same UID for 5 minutes. Once 5 minutes have passed from the deletion time, you will then be able to provision a new user with that same UID.